Great Vegetarian Dishes @ Bloor & Ossington

December 16, 2011


So I have been a vegetarian for over 6 years now, and I love going around finding new awesome places to eat. There is this one place called the Hogtown Vegan, and it’s awesome. It’s on Bloor, right near Ossington station. They have several different types of dishes to choose from, as well as freshly squeezed lemonade and iced tea. The prices aren’t bad, especially when you realize you are getting great food that is actually vegan! This is the sister restaurant of Hot Beans Vegan, in Kensington market (which btw is delicious!! They have the most amazing nachos ever).

I have been there two times now, and both times I ordered the entree caesar salad. Now this may seem silly to those of you who are not vegan or vegetarian, but those who are understand. Caesar salad is made with bacon bits and in the dressing there is typically anchovy paste (yuck!), so needless to say, I have not eaten caesar salad in a very long time and I was very excited to order a vegan caesar salad. It was delicious, and you get a huge amount for like $9. I also had the lemonade (both visits I believe) and it is quite good.

The service both times has been good. They don’t leave you sitting around forever wondering what’s happening (as some places do), but they don’t bug you every two seconds. The food did not take long to come out (my friend’s food took longer to prepare than mine did) and it all came out at the same time (again, unlike other places that bring out everyone’s food but one person who ends up waiting forever).

So, if you are vegan or vegetarian, or are open to trying a new place to eat, come out and try this place. It is excellent. I posted pictures that I took of the menu below.

Just writing about this place makes me want to go back very soon…..

https://www.facebook.com/TheHogtownVegan?sk=info

 

 

Leave a Reply

