The Final Destination

December 26, 2011


First off, Merry Christmas/ Happy Holidays to everybody!

So yesterday I watched The Final Destination, which is the fourth movie of the Final Destination franchise/ series (or whatever you choose to call it). I own this movie, and I own the first three as well. I find the overall story of the movies to be rather intriguing.

For those who may not have watched any of the movies before, they center around someone having a premonition where an accident is about to happen. In the first movie it is a plane crash, the second is a big highway pileup, the third is a rollercoaster accident, and in the fourth is a crash at a racetrack. There is also a fifth movie which I have yet to see. After the premonition, the person usually freaks out and refuses to be involved in the premonition, therefore saving their life along with friends and others lives. After this, the survivors start to die in the order that they died in the premonition. The survivors then have to figure out what the order is in order to save their lives.

The fourth movie starts off at a racetrack where this guy sees that everyone is going to die in a firey crash. He ends up causing a fight and leaving the stadium, along with his friends and some others, who all end up surviving the horrific crash. Afterwards, he starts seeing how the survivors will die and must figure out who is next and how he can prevent each of them from dying. Compared to the first movie, I don’t think it is as good. It does keep to the basic plot though, which is nice to see, so that if you have seen the previous movies you can try to figure out what may happen next. I would probably rate the movie about a seven out of ten I think.

The movie came out in 2009, and is filled with actors who I did not know, except for Shantel VanSanten who plays Lori, who is in One Tree Hill and plays Haley’s sister Quinn. Since all of the other actors are unknown to me, I did not have anything to compare them to, which in a way can be good because it gives them a fresh start where I am not comparing them to how they were in other movies or tv shows.

Overall, I believe it is a good movie. There is a lot of suspense, which keeps you guessing as to who is going to be next. There is also a lot of gore, so those who do not appreciate gory movies may not like this. Gore does not faze me in any way, so I didn’t have any problem with it.

If you are interested in seeing this movie, but you have not seen any of the first three movies, I would suggest to go watch those first. You don’t necessarily need to watch them, but there are some things that come up in this movie that may make more sense if you have watched the first three.

Clearly now I suppose I should go and watch the fifth movie. When I do, I’ll let you know how it is.

🙂

2 Responses to “The Final Destination”

  1. Matt Stewart Says:

    Interesting review. The series has never really caught my eye, the idea behind the films just seems too silly. However, recently some of the review have made me want to check them out. Good work!

  2. Robyn Says:

    Thanks! 🙂 I’m glad I could help encourage someone to check them out!


Leave a Reply

