Best Albums & EPs of 2011

December 30, 2011


Some really great albums and EPs have come out this year, so I decided to pick my top five and share them with you, and tell you why you should go buy them RIGHT NOW.

5. Blink 182- Neighborhoods: I was very excited for this album. After being broken up for years, Blink 182 finally got back together and made an album! With tracks like Up All Night and Heart’s All Gone, it is definitely an album to check out. It has a new sound compared to Blink’s previous albums, which I think has something to do with Tom Delonge’s work in Angels and Airwaves, and Mark Hoppus and Travis Barker’s work in +44. Definitely a great album, especially if you are a longtime Blink 182 fan, or just a fan of good music.

4. Prince Caspian- Late Night Calls (EP): Prince Caspian frontman David Charles Fischer is a good friend of mine and a very talented musician from Elora/ Toronto. He has a wonderful voice and is able to write great songs. He gives any venue a good vibe when he steps onto the stage to perform, and always gives a fantastic set, whether it be alone or with full band. The EP only has 4 songs on it, but all 4 are great. It’s hard to pick a favourite, because they all are well written and sound fantastic. Over the summer, a music video was filmed for the first track titled Christian Girls (which I am proud to say I am in!) and it’s awesome. You should check the video out, and you should check out Prince Caspian. Great lyrics, great sound, great vibes…. and I’m not just saying that because he’s my friend. I give credit where credit is due, and this guy deserves a HELL OF A LOT OF CREDIT. 🙂

3. The Little Black Dress- The Little Black Dress (EP): The Little Black Dress is a Toronto based band made up of 5 talented guys; Dan- frontman/ songwriter/ guitar player/ friend, Brian- guitar player, Damian- bassist, Kyle- keys/ bassist/ back vocals/ friend, and Lewis- drummer/ back vocals. Everytime they get up on stage they have a crazy energy and the crowd is super excited. The songs are well written, sound great, and make you want to dance. This EP is no exception. The 5 songs on the EP are each fantastic in a different way, my favourite being I Won’t Hide. They also have another EP, titled Strut, which is great too! Every song these guys put out makes me wonder why they aren’t huge already, because they should be. Every show they do ends up being crazy packed with friends, family and very loyal fans that they definitely deserve to have more of. Please check them out, because this band is amazing. And again, I’m not saying this because I have friends in this band. They are VERY TALENTED!  

2. Marianas Trench- Ever After: Being a fan of Marianas Trench for a few years now, I was excited for the new album to come out. These 4 guys (Josh Ramsay, Matt Webb, Mike Ayley & Ian Casselman) are an incredibly talented band who love their fans. This new album has such an amazing sound and every song makes me want to sing and dance, and let’s face it, I can’t sing or dance but I want to when I listen to this album. My favourite songs on the album are Desperate Measures, Toy Soldiers and Haven’t Had Enough, and even though I picked three, those were difficult to pick because this album is just fantastic. The album is made as a story, and each song is meant to be listened to in order. Their concerts are amazing, and it’s no surprise that they have tons and tons of fans everywhere. If you haven’t checked out this album yet, CHECK IT OUT!

1. Simple Plan- Get Your Heart On: Simple Plan is my most favourite band in the entire world, and as far as I’m concerned they can do no wrong, but they have outdone themselves this time. Pierre Bouvier, Chuck Comeau, David Desrosiers, Seb Lefebvre and Jeff Stinco are so unbelievably talented. They write amazing songs and are amazing live! They are also incredibly nice guys (I met them in June) and are very dedicated to their fans. The album is so great, I honestly can’t pick one favourite song because I truly love them all. Every song tells a different story that fans can relate to. The album is amazing, so check it out, right now.

Also, Simple Plan is touring Canada in February, and Marianas Trench is opening with them. FANTASTIC!! I am super excited. You should be too. Check them out and get tickets! Maybe I’ll see you there.

🙂

Leave a Reply

