Zoo Diaries

December 30, 2011


For those of you who have never heard of or watched the show Zoo Diaries, it’s a show made at the Toronto Zoo. It’s all about the different animals that they work with and the projects that they do. I usually see it on Animal Planet, and they also play it on the Pet Network.

I am an animal lover, and I always have been. I also have been a volunteer for two summers at the Toronto Zoo, so I know more than the general public would on certain things that the zoo does, as well as being able to go into parts of the zoo that the public can’t go into! It was pretty cool to find out that the zoo has their own show, especially since I have volunteered there.

On the show they show us some day to day work that they do with the animals, and what they have to do in special cases. In the most recent episode that I watched, which by the way was a repeat, they had to give Monty (a crocodile) a feeding tube because he hadn’t been eating. I had not seen this being done whenever I would volunteer, so it was interesting to watch. I think the show is a good way to educate the public on what the staff does behind the scenes, since the general public will never see a lot of it. The zoo does do public feedings and talks at certain times each day for particular animals that the general public can watch which I think is great. I watched the feeding for the cheetahs once and that was a cool experience.

As a volunteer, I have been able to do many things that the public can’t do, but they could possibly see on the show. I was able to get up close and personal with some camels and pat them as I learned about the camel’s feeding schedule. What was even better was when I was able to go behind the scenes with the male indian rhino, and pat him and feed him! He was just like a big huge dog, it was really funny, and it was one of the coolest experiences I’ve ever had.

So I’ve gotten a little off topic from the show, but to finish off, if you’ve never watched the show and you’re interested in zoos and/ or animals, I would check it out. It’s good to learn what they actually do in zoos so that we can all understand what they do and better support them. Also, if you live in Toronto or the GTA and want to volunteer, go to http://torontozoo.com/SupportTheZoo/BecomeAVolunteer.asp and see if there’s a volunteer position available that you would like to do!

2 Responses to “Zoo Diaries”

  1. C Barron Says:

    I have watched that show too, and I quite enjoy it.
    I am surprised that the camel didn’t spit, because they are famous for that.
    Its cool that you got to feel the rhino, but I think if I get to Africa I had better not try that in the wilds, lol. Its great that you get to see all the behind the scenes stuff. Some of the foods that they feed various animals are pretty cool too – lots of interesting, slimy, raw stuff. I fed a giraffe in Busch gardens. I will see if I can find the pics.
    Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

