Worst Remake EVER.

January 5, 2012


If you read the title, you know you are about to read about a movie which is the worst remake EVER. Rob Zombie’s Halloween is a complete and total joke, not to mention an insult to the original film. Halloween was originally made in 1978 and is about Michael Myers, a man who killed his older sister when he was 6 years old with a butcher knife. He was institutionalized for years, but escapes and returns home to Haddonfield and starts stalking and killing teenagers, his main focus on his little sister, Laurie Strode. The movie has non-stop suspense and is an EXCELLENT example of a gory, suspense filled horror classic. It is absolutely amazing, especially when you think about how they didn’t have much when it came to special effects back then, along with all the tricks they have now. The movie was Jamie Lee Curtis’ breakout role.

Now back to the awful movie remake. This movie was directed and written by Rob Zombie, who is a sorry excuse of a writer as far as I’m concerned. Apparantly John Carpenter co-wrote (he wrote the original), so I don’t understand how the movie turned out the way that it did. The movie focuses a lot more on Michael’s childhood, and changes the story quite a bit. The actor who plays Michael as a child is weird and not at all how we would all believe Michael looked as a child. Then theres the actor who plays Michael as an adult, and I don’t know how he was given the role. For one thing, the guy is gigantic (he’s like 7 feet tall or something), when Michael in the original movies was not as tall or broad as this new guy, so personally that really bothered me. Then, there was his mask, which didn’t look right. The actors are all pretty much nobodies, but the acting isn’t too bad, which is the only nice-ish thing I can say here.

I think what just bothered me the most about this movie is that they changed so much from the original. I understand that when a remake is made, changes are always made, but they changed so many things that I cared about from the original. If you have never seen the original, you may feel very differently about this movie.

If you want to go out and watch a terrific horror movie, please watch the original Halloween. It is one of the most excellent movies ever made in my opinion. It’s simply fantastic. But please don’t watch Rob Zombie’s remake of the movie. I actually became very angry in the theatre as I was watching it (and thinking about it now is making me angry), because it is just such a poor remake of an amazing original film.

I give the movie a 1 out of 10. I know that many of you will think I am being too harsh, but reading this post means you want my honest opinion right? This movie is simply awful and upsetting to me, and fails on too many levels.

Leave a Reply

