Three Movies on Netflix

March 17, 2012


So I thought I’d write a post about how I went a little crazy watching movies on Netflix today. I somehow managed to watch three entire movies, even with interruptions of phone calls, emails, and of course taking my dog on two long walks.

We originally had Netflix last year for a month in May, and got rid of it because we didn’t think we would use it much. Then we got it back again maybe two months ago, and some days our household goes a little overboard with Netflix movies and tv shows. I got into two shows off of Netflix: Accidentally on Purpose (which was only done for one season, which is sad!) and Drop Dead Diva (which I adore!). I watched all of the one season of Accidentally on Purpose, and all of the two seasons of Drop Dead Diva that have so far been added to Netflix. I am eagerly awaiting the third season!!

I didn’t have much I needed to do today, other than feeding and walking the dog, so I first decided to watch The Mist. This is because I had never seen it before, it is based on of a novella by Stephen King (one of my favourite authors!) AND because one of the actors from Drop Dead Diva is in it. While I was watching, I also discovered that at least three of the actors from The Walking Dead are in The Mist, which is pretty cool because I really enjoy the show (the season 2 finale is on tomorrow night!). I found The Mist to be suspenseful and I liked most of the characters (except for one, but luckily they died), so overall I believe the movie was good, except for the ending. I guessed what the ending would be and I ended up being correct. There was a little surprise that I did not expect at the end, but in general I was not all that surprised and I was a little upset that the end was so predictable.

I then watched I Still Know What You Did Last Summer, which I have seen before many times. It is an alright movie, but the first is definitely better. The last movie I watched was one called Surviving Crooked Lake, which is about these four young girls who have to survive after something happens to their guide. I’m not sure how old these girls are, but they seem awfully young. The acting was not good and the camerawork was all over the place. I was not happy with a few other things, but in case you decide to watch it, I won’t say what, although I do not recommend this movie.

So clearly I had too much time on my hands today, and I’ll try not to do the same thing again tomorrow. If you have Netflix though and enjoy suspense, I’d say to check out The Mist. Even though I didn’t enjoy the ending, I don’t think it’s a bad movie. If you don’t have Netflix, you should consider getting it if you enjoy tv shows and movies, and/or can’t find anything to watch on cable or satellite. Netflix does have some different things on it that I wouldn’t normally see on cable, but at the same time they do need to add a lot more to it so that they have more of a selection. For $8 a month though, you can’t really complain.

7 Responses to “Three Movies on Netflix”

  1. Tom Baker Says:

    Sometimes ‘me time’ is good for the soul – especially if you spend it watching movies.Netflix is a wonderful invention.

    • Robyn Says:

      Oh I agree, I enjoy watching movies and Netflix has been great for me since they have movies I’ve never seen. 🙂

      • Tom Baker Says:

        Netflix has saved me so much money. I even set up a page on my blog that keeps account of the movies I watch (although it is months behind, I still keep a record).

  2. TBM Says:

    I read the Mist last year. I’ll have to check out the film.


  3. I am unable to read articles online very often, but I’m glad I did today. This is very well written and your points are well-expressed. Please, don’t ever stop writing.


  4. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.


Leave a Reply

