Apples vs. Tomatoes

March 18, 2012


I found this ad on the internet for ketchup. It is promoting Heinz, saying that there are more tomatoes and less sugar in their “fit” ketchup.

Now, I don’t even know if this ad is real, seeing as I have never seen it before now and it looks rather silly, but it reminded me of a saying that everyone always uses: ‘An apple a day keeps the doctor away”. Well, I’m not the hugest fan of apples, although I do enjoy a golden delicious or a granny smith once in a while. So needless to say, I do not eat apples very often. I decided to start telling people that “A tomato a day keeps the doctor away”, because let’s face it, yes apples are good for you, but there are so many nutrients in tomatoes, and I tend to eat a lot of tomatoes. Tomatoes actually have more Vitamin A and Vitamin C in them than apples do. I am not saying that apples are bad in any way, or that you shouldn’t eat them, I’m just saying that for those of us who are not big fans of apples, there is something else out there that may be even better for us.

For those of you who do not enjoy apples or tomatoes, there are many other fruits and vegetables out there that you can enjoy that are good for you. πŸ™‚

Just remember that my saying is, “A tomato a day keeps the doctor away”. πŸ™‚

4 Responses to “Apples vs. Tomatoes”

  1. Lea Says:

    What about grape tomatoes? Do they have as much nutrients as a regular tomato? Like not individually, obviously, but as a handful or something?

    • Robyn Says:

      Yes, if you have about half a dozen grape or cherry tomatoes, they should contain a similar amount of nutrients as a medium tomato does, as long as they’re fresh and ripe. Each type of tomato may be a little different nutrient-wise, but any kind of fresh tomato is good for you. Tomatoes all contain antioxidants which are great for your health. πŸ™‚

  2. TBM Says:

    I’m not a huge fan of tomatoes, but love salsa with tomato chunks. I don’t know why.


Leave a Reply

