Animal Lovers Follow Up

April 6, 2012


As some of you know, I am participating in the OSPCA Friends For Life Walkathon to raise money for animals. It is my third year participating and I am very happy to be doing the walk again.

On tuesday, I wrote a post titled ‘Animal Lovers’ and said that for every like and comment (other than comments made by myself) until Friday at 11pm EST, I would donate an extra 50 cents to the OSPCA. I thought that this would be a great way to raise awareness for the cause, and get people involved, even if they didn’t actually donate themselves. It is now past the time, and I counted 20 likes and comments. This means that I will donate an extra $10 to the OSPCA.

Ten dollars does not seem like much, but every bit helps, and I want to say thank you to everyone who read my post, and liked and commented on it. The issue that I find with doing charity events is that most people I talk to are not interested in participating or donating (even a small amount such as $5 or $10). It makes me wonder if there are few people out there like myself who are willing to volunteer their time and donate what they can to help others, and that thought is really scary to me. I understand that many people simply don’t have the money to donate, which I can understand, but if they have some extra time they could volunteer their time, and I know very few people who do that. I understand that not everyone is like me, but I feel as though we must be living for some reason, and even though we are allowed to be selfish at times and go for what we want, if we don’t help anyone in the process, than why are we here? I don’t want to be in a world where people don’t care about each other, animals or the planet. Luckily I do know some very caring people who do help others, but I don’t know very many of these people.

You may be reading this and not like what I’m saying, and if that’s the case then that’s fine, it’s not as though I have forced you to read this, but if you feel the same way as me, and enjoy helping others and helping out great causes, then I would love to hear about it! The more people we have in this world who care, the better it will be. 🙂

6 Responses to “Animal Lovers Follow Up”

  1. katehobbs Says:

    I commend you for your fundraising. It’s hard, particularly in today’s financial climate. People are holding on to their money.
    I think that if the need matches an individual’s passion then they are more inclined to donate or volunteer. You love animals, so for you it was easier to do your walk than for me who doesn’t really have that passion. However, I have a desire to help those who are on the poverty line so I volunteer twice a week at a store that gives away free clothes. It’s great building relationships with people.
    I think many volunteers don’t shout it from the rooftops. One of the characteristics of givers of time or money in this way is that they do so quietly, behind the scenes. They are out there, but they shun the limelight. But without them, and others like you, things would not get done.
    If there were no volunteers, I think countries and governments would find that they couldn’t cope; charities and organisations that supplement government programmes would not function; there would be greater strain on government resources.
    There should be a volunteer awareness day or something. There probably is one but I don’t know about it.
    Keep up the good work. Wishing you every success.
    Kate.


  2. Great cause, thanks for sharing this.

  3. takingsnaps Says:

    Well done, great cause!


Leave a Reply

