Fears

April 27, 2012


Everybody is afraid of something. Whether we like to admit it or not, we all have a fear of something. My mom, my sister and one of my best friends are absolutely horrified by spiders (Arachnophobia). Both of my dads are afraid of heights (Acrophobia), although one is much more afraid of heights than the other. My grandpa and my other best friend (not the one afraid of spiders) are afraid of snakes (Ophidiophobia). There are many other fears such as fear of death, fear of fire, fear of the dark, fear of clowns, fear of needles and fear of germs. For an entire list of fears, check out: http://phobialist.com/ I’m sure every fear, if not most of them, are probably on there.

Since I am writing about fears, I thought I would tell you mine (just don’t make fun of me!). My main fears are:

Fear of Snakes: Ophidiophobia- This would be my major one. I can’t even see pictures of snakes without flipping out.

Fear of Heights: Acrophobia- I have trouble going on some roller coasters because of this, and I also can’t go on ladders or the roof or anything like that, although that also has to do with the fact I sometimes suffer from vertigo. I can fly though, which doesn’t make a lot of sense.

Fear of Seaweed (not sure of a scientific name for this)- I know this one is weird, but I really freak out when I’m swimming and seaweed touches me. I think why it scared me is because I’m afraid that its a snake touching me, because I’m so scared of snakes.

Fear of Open Spaces: (Agoraphobia)- Now don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I’m afraid to go outside. My problem is when there is a lot of empty space around me, such as in a movie theatre when I sit in the aisle seat, or if I sit in a chair that doesn’t have a wall or something behind it. This one isn’t too bad for me, I’m better than I used to be but it still bothers me. I guess it’s because I’m afraid of someone going into that empty space that I don’t know and who could harm me in some way. It’s very difficult to explain, but I’m pretty sure that it has to do with how I find it incredibly difficult to trust people and let them in emotionally. It could also be the fact that I really don’t like certain people touching me.

When I was a kid, I was afraid of dogs. Obviously I’m not anymore though because my family has two dogs who I love very much! I’m also not a big fan of the dark. I’m not afraid of it, but I have bad night vision so it’s difficult for me to see in the dark, therefore I don’t like it all that much. Oh, and I really don’t like germs, more than most people I think. I don’t have a fear of them though.

So, now that you know all about me and my fears (which nobody is allowed to hold against me!), you should tell me yours. Sometimes its good to just get things out in the open.

Leave a Reply

