Do Your Part To Help Animals!

May 7, 2012


I just wanted to write a quick post to talk about the OSPCA Walkathon that I’m doing. On May 26th (which is my mom’s birthday!) I am participating in the OSPCA (Ontario Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals) Friends For Life Walkathon to raise money for animals! This is the third year that I am participating in the walk and I’m very excited to be doing it again! The money that is raised goes towards sheltering, adoptions, cruelty investigations, advocacy, spaying and neutering and more.

Animals have always been a huge part of my life. I grew up having cats, up until I was 15 which was when my family got two dogs. Animals are such amazing creatures. They don’t judge, they’re always there for you, and unlike your siblings (or possibly children) they don’t talk back. I moved around a lot as a kid (I’ve been to 10 different schools) and it was always nice to have a pet who will stay by your side when you start going to a new school and have no friends. Animals are more than just pets, they’re family to me. I always say that animals are better than some people, therefore animals should be treated equally as people, if not better. This is why events such as this walkathon are so important to me, as well as animal charities and shelters. I volunteer at an animal shelter (for three years now), and I have done work with other animal shelters and charities as well. I would really like to see more people go out and help (especially so called ‘animal lovers’)… whether it be doing events such as this walkathon, volunteering at a shelter or just donating a little bit of money to your favourite animal charity.

I try to do my part for animals as much as I can, by volunteering my time and donating when I can. And just to add, I’m also a vegetarian of six and a half years, I don’t wear fur, I sign every anti-animal abuse petition I find, I try to find products which are not tested on animals, and I do anything and everything I can to help. So if you love animals, please join me- join an event, donate, volunteer, look for products not tested on animals, sign petitions, or whatever else you can think of so that you can say that you STAND UP FOR ANIMALS. You don’t have to start doing every single thing tomorrow, but if you start small you can grow from there and make a big difference. 🙂

Please let me know if you are interested in joining a walk (they’re all across Ontario) or event, or have any questions about how to do or start something!

Leave a Reply

