Dead City

December 5, 2012


Good afternoon,

I would like to mention a great book today! Dead City by Joe McKinney is a novel about a zombie apocalypse. The story follows a cop named Eddie Hudson in San Antonio, Texas. The Texas gulf coast has been battered by five hurricanes in the last three weeks and it has caused the worst devastation in history. Thousands of people are dead or dying, but they aren’t staying dead. A deadly virus has broken out and is returning the dead to life, and giving them a hunger for human flesh.

Eddie Hudson finds the city overrun by the dead, and must fight them to make it back to his family alive. There is no place to run or hide, and the disease is spreading faster than anyone could have imagined.

This book is absolutely amazing! It has lots of terror, suspense, and a great storyline. Joe McKinney gives expert detail to every part of the story, keeping you on your toes and making you want and need to read more. I had never heard of him before, but when I found this novel in the horror section of Chapters, I was intrigued. I would suggest this book to anyone who enjoys reading the horror genre. If you like watching The Walking Dead, or any zombie movies, I would suggest this to you as well. Honestly, I would suggest this book to just about anyone. It is excellent. I read the book in 4 days, and I could not wait to read the next book in the series. The second book is called Apocalypse of the Dead, and I am about a third of the way through the book, so once I am finished I will be sure to write a review.

I bought Dead City at Chapters, but I’m sure you could probably find it in most bookstores that have a horror section. It is $8.99 Canadian and $6.99 American. It is 288 pages long, so a little shorter than novels I usually read, but great none the less. I would give it a ten out of ten! Please check out this book, you won’t be disappointed!!

Leave a Reply

