Apocalypse Of The Dead

December 16, 2012


Good evening everyone!

Following my review of Dead City by Joe McKinney, I would like to give you all my review of the second book in the dead series: Apocalypse Of The Dead. The story follows many individuals and groups of people in the United States. It has been two horrible years since the hurricanes flooded the Gulf Coast, and the dead rose from the chaos. Cities were quarantined to contain the dead, and also contained the unlucky survivors still living inside.

Some refugees make it out of the quarantine zone, but not all of them are healthy- some of them are infected. Within weeks, the epidemic spreads across the United States and the rest of the world. There are cases in China, Africa, and just about everywhere else, meaning nobody is safe. One of the characters who is focused on is retired U.S. Marshal Ed Moore. As he tries to lead a group of strangers to safety, he hears about a community in the North Dakota Grasslands, lead by a preacher who has built the community up and kept them safe. What he doesn’t know is that this preacher has frightening beliefs, including encouraging his people to agree to a suicide pact. Ed Moore and the other groups of survivors must decide what to do and where to go before it is too late.

I found that the book started off well, but was confusing. Joe McKinney focuses on many different groups of survivors and it makes the book difficult to follow. Once I was about a quarter of the way through, it became easier to follow along as he described the characters more and some of the groups were killed off. The book does have a lot of action and suspense from the beginning to the end, but I would have to say that the second half of the book was more interesting than the first for me. Based on my love for Dead City, I would recommend reading this book, as it does a good job of following Dead City. The only thing is that the character Dead City is based on, is not in Apocalypse Of The Dead. He only mentioned him once, and I would have liked to find out what happened to him.

I believe I would give the book an 8.5 out of 10. I did enjoy the book a lot, and the ending was good, but I could not give it a 10 because of how confusing I found the beginning. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys horror and/ or zombie novels, but I would say to read Dead City first. The next book in the series is called Flesh Eaters, and I am hoping to go buy it tomorrow so I can continue reading this series. I can tell by both Dead City and Apocalypse Of The Dead that Joe McKinney is great with descriptive detail on events as well as characters, and does a good job at keeping the reader interested.

For those of you who are interested in this book, I bought it at the World’s Biggest Bookstore for $8.99. You can also buy it at Chapters or any other bookstore associated with Chapters, but they don’t carry it at every location so I would check online first to see if your local store has it. Once I read Flesh Eaters, I will make sure to write a review to keep you all updated on Joe McKinney’s novels. I have really been enjoying getting back to reading regularly, and I love that I have found a writer that keeps me interested with their books! If you are looking for a great horror book, check out Dead City and Apocalypse Of The Dead. 🙂

Leave a Reply

